Orchard Place Presents Awards

Representative Renee Schulte of Cedar Rapids is presented with the 2011 Voice for Children Award by Brock Wolff. The award is given annually to honor an individual whose public service has best enabled Orchard Place to serve the children who come through its doors for help. Representative Schulte has played a major role in children's health issues, and is now playing a leadership role in the bipartisan effort to redesign Iowa's adult and children's mental health treatment system.

Brock Wolff presents Jeffrey Taylor, a manager of information technology at Principal Financial Group, with the 2011 Margaret Swanson Volunteer of the Year Award. Jeffrey founded the PACE Tutoring Program several years ago and continues to serve as a tutor in the program which has helped dozens of kids achieve academic success. The Award is named for the late Margaret Swanson, a former Orchard Place board member who played a key role in developing the volunteer program at Orchard Place.

Presenting Sponsors of Orchard Place's 125th Anniversary year were recognized for providing significant funding for the special events and activities of Orchard Place's milestone year. Brock Wolf acknowledged the generous support of Bankers Trust, Nationwide, Principal Financial Group and Ruan. Accepting awards were: Tara Meier, Ruan; John Schmidt and Andrew Allen, Principal Financial Group; Brock Wolff; Kris Schechinger and Katie Albrecht, Nationwide and Suku Radia and Joe DeJong, Bankers Trust.

Several Des Moines companies stepped forward in 2011 to provide major support of Orchard Place’s 125th Anniversary year and events. Representatives of several corporate bronze sponsors were in attendance and recognized for their support. Pictured left to right: Julie Stewart, Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino, Mic Jurgens, Hy-Vee, Neil Berns, Sammons Financial Group, Brock Wolff, Nick Gerhart and Ron Markway, Sammons Financial Group. Not pictured: American Equity Investment Life Insurance Company, Aviva USA and Lou and Wendy Waugaman.